Household Chores

May 11, 2015 at 12:00 am | Posted in 1960s, Australia, family responsibilities, Growing up in the 1950s and 60s, household chores | 12 Comments
Tags: ,

monday-memoir-badge

Our childhood days were often anything but fun and games. Both Mum and Dad believed that children should learn early to help around the house. There were no free rides – at least not for the girls. Throughout our childhood and teens, we had our jobs to do and we couldn’t get out of them without good reason.

My sisters and I were expected to help Mum clean the house. We did a lot of the big weekly clean under Mum’s supervision. We didn’t have a vacuum cleaner. Instead, we used a stiff bristled hand (banister) brush to sweep the lounge room carpet on hands and knees. After that it was dusting the furniture, as well as sweeping and dusting the rest of the house.

One of the things I didn’t mind doing was polishing the brassware with Brasso. Among these were three or four round wall plaques pressed with scenes of sailing ships or old villages. Mum had worked in a large munitions factory in Accrington during WWII and, among other things, had filled the shells that the British fired at the Germans. Dad was a fighter pilot in the RAF, one of those who fired those 22mm shells.

20mm shell casing WWIIOn one of his leaves, Dad brought home an empty .22 shell casing; one that had been fired. That casing became one of the brass ornaments that lived in Mum’s china cabinet. I loved polishing that one. Many years later, after Mum had died, I noticed that the shell casing was missing. Despite enquiries, we have never discovered where it went to.

My sisters and I did all the washing up after dinner (we called it tea). We took turns clearing the table, washing up, and drying and putting away the dishes. With no hot water, an electric jug had to be boiled to start washing up the crockery, and another to heat the water up again for the pots and pans. We all hated washing up. There were occasional arguments when one of us ‘forgot’ which task we were supposed to do that night, or was late getting on the job – especially the washing up.

We had to make our beds of course – even my brother did that – and polish our shoes in the evenings for school or work the next day. When we were about nine or ten, we learned how to do our own ironing. The iron, although it was electric, had no heat regulator or steam. We had to turn it on or off at the power point to attain and maintain the correct heat – not easy to do, and easy to forget when distracted. Woe betide us if it got too hot and scorched the item of clothing we were ironing – especially if it was a white school shirt!

A Louvered Glass Window

A Louvered Glass Window

We also had to help clean the windows once we were a bit older. I remember the louvered windows and cleaning each one – each window had 10-12 long narrow panes. We had to wash each pane, on both sides, with wet newspaper then dry it with dry newspaper. You couldn’t press too hard on the glass or the pane could break in two. By the end of the job, our hands were black with newsprint. Sometimes we used Bon Ami, an abrasive paste that had to be spread evenly and thinly onto the glass. When dry we rubbed it off with a dry cloth. Every window in the house, apart from three, had louvres. So we soon got to hate the day that Mum decided it was window-cleaning day!

My older brother didn’t have many jobs to do – I only remember him doing one apart from making his bed and cleaning his shoes. Once we got a mower, he mowed the lawn and the bulrushes down the back. However, he left school to start work in 1960 when he was fifteen and had done his Intermediate Certificate, and he didn’t have to do it then. Other things happened that year too. When Dad contracted polio in October 1961 [that story to come] he could not do physical work for some time. I took over the mowing and loved it.

So, until we left home to marry, pretty well all the chores that Mum didn’t do fell to the three of us girls. My elder sister learned how to cook and I think my younger sister learned a bit of cooking too. They both did Home Economics at school, but I didn’t. I never did learn while I was living at home I wasn’t at all interested in cooking or sewing – I’d much rather do the mowing and other outdoor work.

Old Victa lawn mower

Old Victa lawn mower – except I always wore shoes!

(c) Linda Visman

12 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. These are great stories, Linda. Thanks for sharing!

  2. I love your stories. My father died when I was ten and I had no brothers or sisters so their was no division of labour. I helped my mother with everything including starting the motor for the irrigation system. That was scary because the box was full of huntsmen spiders! We had no hot water but the fuel stove heated the water at the side so one of us washed and the other wiped.

    • It must have been hard for you and your mother Linda after losing your father. One thing it does do though is to make you stronger and more self-reliant.
      Do you have a blog or a website, Linda? I cannot access anything when I click on your name. I would like to visit you online if I can. 🙂

      • Hi Linda, I am writing a blog about our travels in Europe at the moment. I don’t know why you can’t access it. The blog address is
        curryappleorchard.wordpress.com
        This is our last day in Berlin. Tomorrow we fly to Paris and the next day home to Australia. It has been amazing. I have learnt so much.

      • Wow! How lucky you are to see other countries. 🙂
        Thank you for the address of your blog – now you know why I haven’t made any comments on it!
        I look forward to catching up on your travels.

  3. There were no free rides in our house either. One boy and one girl.. I did cleaning and cooking and mowing. Sis did some things- but school came a lot easier for me, so I had more chores. I was OK with that – most days. I was a night bug- so I was up many nights with reading. Sis went to bed? I guess? Life was good.

    • It sounds like you were the elder of the two, Roger. It is good that you can say ‘life was good’ when you look back. 🙂

  4. I loved mowing the lawn too from about 8 years old, and also ironing the tea towels and handkerchiefs

    • Thanks for visiting, Karyn. How old were you when you had to graduate from tea towels to shirts & school uniforms? 🙂

  5. What a snapshot. I was born in ’85, but we had a fair amount of housework in my family, too. I found it really important to shaping my work ethic later in life. Those window panes look like a nightmare, though!

    • Thanks Alex.
      Yes, we never looked forward to cleaning those windows – but it was satisfying to see them sparkling clean afterwards! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

Half Baked In Paradise

Searching, settling, sauteeing and spritzing

The Curry Apple Orchard

A blog designed to remember the past and celebrate the present.

barsetshirediaries

A site for the Barsetshire Diaries Books and others

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

Leigh Warren :: Country Music Outlaw

The ramblings of Leigh Warren about himself, country music and maybe... well who knows

Diane Tibert

~ writer - editor - publisher ~

Looking Back

With Mick Roberts. Est. Online 2000

Explore China

Four weeks of flying, cycling, hiking, cruising, eating and exploring

Repurposed Genealogy

Explore What's Possible

Appalachian Ink ~ Home of Anna Wess (and Granny)

Home of Anna Wess, Writer & Ghost Chaser

Myths of the Mirror

Life is make believe, fantasy given form

Writing on the Pages of Life

Exploring, creating and celebrating the writing life

ME and the Boss

Motivation and life......lived and loved one day at a time.

QP and Eye

Easy Going Introvert Blogs Here

Our Rumbling Ocean

Every day brings new adventures

Victoria Norton

Short stories, poems, and comments on life.

