A to Z Challenge 2015 – Reflection

May 5, 2015 at 3:00 am | Posted in A-Z Blogging Challenge 2015, blogging, Discipline, Reflections | 17 Comments
Tags: , ,

A-to-Z Reflection [2015]

I have completed my second A to Z Blogging Challenge!

cheerleader

I have posted 26 entries through April with one of my poems for each A to Z entry, and I have enjoyed the experience a great deal.

I cannot think of a negative regarding the Challenge itself, but I have a lot of positives to report on my own participation:

  • The day before the Challenge began, I had intended to pull out. I thought it was too much for me to handle, and that the stress would be too much. Then I had a great idea – I would use my poetry for the entries.
  • I finally learned how to schedule my posts so that I could get them up on my blog a few days ahead of time and thus have some days in reserve in case I couldn’t make it on the day the post was due.
  • I strengthened ties with some blogs I follow and who already follow mine. Some did not do the A to Z Challenge, but they faithfully followed my posts. Among them are:
    • QueasyPeasy – QP and Eye, who writes on several different themes, and in this year’s A to Z, wrote posts mostly on her travels;
    • Frederick Anderson – Author, who writes a great blog and tells wonderful stories;
    • Our Rumbling Ocean, where I am finding out a great deal about South African bird and animal life and flora;
    • Baz – the Landy, who is a mountaineer who also loves travelling inland Australia and posts some great photos of the country.
  • I made some wonderful new blogging friends along the way, and have found great new blogs to read and to share. Among these are:
  • Even though many of my regular followers didn’t join the Challenge, they were quite engaged with my A to Z posts, and commented onthem regularly.
  • The number of my blog followers increased, and so did the number of visitors each post received. Views on my blog numbered 1,509 in April, where the usual monthly views are around 700-800 – so, a nice increase. The best week saw 485 views. These stats are small compared with many other A to Z-ers, but for me they are very satisfying.
  • My poetry had more exposure than it ever has before.
  • I completed the Challenge!

One problem I have had is nothing to do with the Challenge, but with my Gravatar. Somehow, about the start of the Challenge, the link from it changed from my wangiwriter wordpress blog to an old website I used to have years ago. I have still not been able to correct this.

I’d like to say thanks to those on the A to Z Challenge Team who dropped in on my blog and commented. It was lovely to see you and know that I was seen as one of the Challengers.

Thanks also to the organisers, who must be delighted with the steady increase in participant numbers each year.

I will certainly be taking the Challenge again in 2016, but I will start getting ready for it earlier than I did this year.

Here are all my posts for the 2015 Challenge:

A is for Answer

B is for Black Dog

C is for Crossing the River

D is for Dirty Fingerprints

E is for Embrace the Good

F is for First Touch

G is for Going Grand

H is for Haiku

I is for Imagination

J is for Justice

K is for Kangaroo

L is for Lost

M is for Mowing the Lawn

N is for Never-ending

O is for On the Rocks

P is for Petrol

Q is for Quinzaine

R is for Rivers of Life

S is for Snow Angels

T is for Time

U is for Unconditional Love

V is for Valentine

W is for Writers’ Block

X is for … X

Y is for You’re In There, I Know It!

Z is for Zephyr

Linda Visman – wangiwriter

17 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Good job, Linda!

  2. Excellent result Linda and congratulations on the increased views to your blog. It makes the effort worthwhile despite the difficulty at the start of the month. I’m not a poetry person but I did enjoy your contributions and the variety kept me interested.

  3. Thank you for sharing your A to Z experience. I need to learn how to schedule my blog post ahead of time . I fell behind twice because I wasn’t in a postion to post and if I had pre-scheduled the posts that wouldn’t have happened . I didn’t get a chance to visit as many blogs as I wanted to, but hopefully I can remedy that by visitng every reflection post.

    Melissa Sugar
    @msugar13
    Sugarlaw13@live.com
    http://fictiontoolbox.blogspot.com

    • Hi Melissa. Thanks for your comment.
      I found scheduling posts to be a real help in organising my time. I am sure you will too.

  4. I Just left a comment but it disappeared . Thanks for sharing your experience . I didn’t get a chance to visit as many blogs as I wanted to but hopefully I can make up for it by visiting all of the reflection post.

    Melissa Sugar
    @msugar13
    Sugarlaw13@live.com
    http://fictiontoolbox.blogspot.com

  5. I want to help you with your Gravatar! I think I’ve figured it out! 🙂

    Go to https://wangiwriter.wordpress.com/wp-admin/ (Your Dashboard)… Then follow these steps:

    1) Appearance > Users
    2) Users > Personal Settings
    3) Scroll down to a) Twitter API and make sure wangiwriter is selected, then PRIMARY BLOG and select the right address in the dropdown menu.
    4) Save changes!

    That should fix it. 🙂

    • Thank you so much, Alex! I think I have it now. Can you check it works?
      I have gone through every setting to try to sort it out, but obviously missed this one. I really appreciate your concern and your assistance. 🙂

      • I will definitely try it! Do you mind making a new comment on my blog so I can see if it links properly? It might take a couple of hours for the change to take effect though, so no rush. 🙂

  6. And a great succession of blogs they are! I am ashamed I did not try this challenge myself, mainly I think because I wouldn’t keep pace, but it is an excellent writing exercise. Big applause! Hurray!

    • Many thanks Frederick! It’s a great exercise, and doesn’t have to be a long post each time – max of 500 words suggested.

  7. Congrats again for having completed, Linda, and I’m glad you decided to go ahead with it. And thank you for the mention.
    I’m impressed tat you have learned how to schedule posts. Something I need to learn too.
    I see you haven’t wasted any time getting back to your regular writing! That’s impressive, too. Hope you’ll continue to post your poetry from time to time. It’s completely different from your prose–inspiring to prosaic people like me.

    • Thank you, Josna. I was pleased to mention you, as your posts were so interesting.
      Re scheduling posts: I couldn’t work out why I couldn’t find the place to do it until I realised I was using the older version of wordpress – it wasn’t there.
      I clicked on the updated version & found the scheduling box in the blog posting page up in top left-hand corner. Easy when you find it!
      Glad you like my poems. I began writing them as a way to improve my prose, and it did! It is good writing discipline too, especially when you use a particular form of poetry – and good to succeed at it, even at a lowly level. 🙂

  8. Hi there 🙂

    I’m stopping here from the Road Trip. I didn’t find your blog during the challenge, but I’m enjoying discovering new blogs on the Road Trip.
    This was the first year I took part in the Challenge and I really enjoyed it, even if, about halfway thrugh, I kind of paniked, because I felt I couldnt’ possibly do it. But I did, and it was fantastic.

    I’m actually not really a poetry girl, but I see you normally blog about the 1960s. I’m a historical writer too, so you’ll understand why I’m fascinated 🙂

    Hope to see youaround.

    @JazzFeathers
    The Old Shelter – Roaring Twenties

    • Welcome, jazzfeathers! This year was my second in the A to Z Challenge, and I enjoyed it a lot. My last year’s theme was historical, mostly posts about my parents, grandparents & life in the early 20th century in England.
      Glad you found the oomph to complete your own challenge. It’s a good feeling isn’t it? Thanks for dropping in. 🙂

      • It is a marvelous feeling and I recommand it to anyone. Yes the challenge is ‘challanging’ (as it should be), but it’s also an incredible boost! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

Half Baked In Paradise

Searching, settling, sauteeing and spritzing

The Curry Apple Orchard

A blog designed to remember the past and celebrate the present.

barsetshirediaries

A site for the Barsetshire Diaries Books and others

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

Leigh Warren :: Country Music Outlaw

The ramblings of Leigh Warren about himself, country music and maybe... well who knows

Diane Tibert

~ writer - editor - publisher ~

Looking Back

With Mick Roberts. Est. Online 2000

Explore China

Four weeks of flying, cycling, hiking, cruising, eating and exploring

Repurposed Genealogy

Explore What's Possible

Appalachian Ink ~ Home of Anna Wess (and Granny)

Home of Anna Wess, Writer & Ghost Chaser

Myths of the Mirror

Life is make believe, fantasy given form

Writing on the Pages of Life

Exploring, creating and celebrating the writing life

ME and the Boss

Motivation and life......lived and loved one day at a time.

QP and Eye

Easy Going Introvert Blogs Here

Our Rumbling Ocean

Every day brings new adventures

Victoria Norton

Short stories, poems, and comments on life.

