A to Z Challenge – Y is for You’re in there!

April 29, 2015 at 12:05 am | Posted in A-Z Blogging Challenge 2015, Poetry, Writing | 10 Comments
Tags: , , ,

.

A2Z-BADGE [2015] - Life is Good

.

Do you ever have trouble finding a word?

.

You’re in There – I Know You Are!

.

Stop, Word! I saw you.

Get back here, I need you.

I’ve been looking for you everywhere.

Oh, no. Don’t you go and hide;

I know you’re in there –

Come out and let me see you!

.

Come on out. Please.

This happens every time I need you;

You’re nowhere to be found.

Stop hiding behind the others!

No, I don’t want them,

I want you!

They just aren’t right for this work.

.

Oh, please, Word.

Don’t you want to be famous;

Have everyone quoting you;

Be the very latest “bon mot”?

You do? Great!

Share? Well, yes, of course

You’ll have to share

The poem with the other words.

.

You don’t want to? But why?

They’re just the everyday words;

The run-of-the-mill words.

They just can’t do the job like you can!

I need a word

That says it just right;

That conveys the perfect idea;

That creates the exact emotion.

.

That’s you. Yes, you!

Oh, come on, Word.

You’ll look so good on the paper,

Or on the screen.

You’ll be admired, and …

.

Word! Come out, this minute!

You’re spoiling everything.

My poem will be ruined.

You don’t care, do you?

You just don’t care.

.

This is your last chance, Word.

Get yourself out here!

Come out of my memory.

Right now!

.

.

(c)  Linda Visman

10 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. the older I get the more often I go through this …
    Right on the tip of my tongue …
    then …
    Lost In Space …
    Well done, even without that word … ME

  2. How very clever of you . I enjoyed your poem and had fun playing hide and seek with you letter Y choice

    Melissa Sugar
    Twitter @msugar13
    http://fictiontoolbox.blogspot.com
    Sugarlaw13@live.com

  3. I just left a Comment but it disappeared because I wasn’t logged in to WP. I hope this is not a repeat but if it is I just wanted to commend you on your clever topic- word for letter Y. I had fun paying hide and seek with your humorous poem . Great choice

    Melissa Sugar
    Twitter @msugar13
    http://fictiontoolbox.blogspot.com
    Sugarlaw13@live.com

  4. Like a cat, it comes in its own sweet time, when it pleases!

  5. ARGHH! I hate that feeling of something being right on the tip of my tongue. It’s happened more and more since I came to Japan, with my English deteriorating in odd ways. Oddly, the phenomenon has a name that is easily forgotten: presque vu.

    • My son was losing his English badly after being in Japan a few years and not having a lot of contact with family. Then that changed and he’s been back to Australia twice too. Since then he is back tospeaking English as he used to. It is amazing how easily you can lose a language.
      Thanks for the term ‘Presque vu’ – it is French for ‘already seen’. At least I have kept some of my written French! 🙂

  6. […] Y is for You’re In There, I Know It! […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

Half Baked In Paradise

Searching, settling, sauteeing and spritzing

The Curry Apple Orchard

A blog designed to remember the past and celebrate the present.

barsetshirediaries

A site for the Barsetshire Diaries Books and others

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

Leigh Warren :: Country Music Outlaw

The ramblings of Leigh Warren about himself, country music and maybe... well who knows

Diane Tibert

~ writer - editor - publisher ~

Looking Back

With Mick Roberts. Est. Online 2000

Explore China

Four weeks of flying, cycling, hiking, cruising, eating and exploring

Repurposed Genealogy

Explore What's Possible

Appalachian Ink ~ Home of Anna Wess (and Granny)

Home of Anna Wess, Writer & Ghost Chaser

Myths of the Mirror

Life is make believe, fantasy given form

Writing on the Pages of Life

Exploring, creating and celebrating the writing life

ME and the Boss

Motivation and life......lived and loved one day at a time.

QP and Eye

Easy Going Introvert Blogs Here

Our Rumbling Ocean

Every day brings new adventures

Frederick Anderson

The Journey Home

Victoria Norton

Short stories, poems, and comments on life.

