A to Z Challenge – N is for Never-ending

April 16, 2015 at 12:05 am | Posted in A-Z Blogging Challenge 2015, Poetry, War and Conflict | 4 Comments

A2Z-BADGE [2015] - Life is Good

 

This is another poem I wrote for a contest. The poem had to be in Pi form. This comes from the mathematical value Pi, which equals 3.141592653589793. The poem thus had to have the number of words in each line correspond with each number in the Pi sequence, with the number of lines equal to the number of digits in the sequence.

Whilst the poem was written for a contest, the subject I have written of was already in my mind, and I had been searching for a form in which to express my thoughts on it. I decided to use the Pi form, and enter the contest too. Along the way, I came up with a potted history of war in the twentieth century and beyond.

Again I write of Man’s intractability, his inhumanity. A sign of the times! The last line says it all.

 

Never-ending War

– A Pi Poem

..

The Great War

Appalling –

Ending all wars forever?

Delusion –

Man’s intractability makes this impossible.

More wars erupt, in Russia, Spain, China, and elsewhere –

Lesson unlearned.

Then comes the Second World War:

Killing brought to the cities –

Bombing; death; destruction;

War no longer just soldiers.

Now, civilians, homes and livelihoods become valid targets.

Suffering, caused by a megalomaniac’s dream of world domination.

Cold War Bomb, Damocles’ sword, hangs suspended.

Korea, Vietnam, Middle East. Now Terror’s War rages worldwide.

Mankind never learns.

..

(c) Linda Visman

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Your poem was timely as we are currently touring WW1 Battlefields around Amien. Tomorrow we are off to Ypres. How the locals have coped is amazing. Towns razed to the ground in WW1 were rebuilt only to be bombed in WW2. Now it is so peaceful with only the sound of birdsong. 1.2 million people, German and Allied, killed in a fruitless war. It is just more than the mind can comprehend.

    • I was born in England. My Maternal grandfather was in the Royal Navy in WW1 & so was his younger brother, who was killed when his ship went down.
      My paternal grandfather served in the Army in France & Belgium in the trenches. he was wounded at Menin.
      My dad was in the RAF, a fighter pilot, and his brother was in the army in France as a tank driver. Mum’s brother was in the army with the Military Police & was at the Nuremburg trials.
      I was so pleased when my brother escaped the draft in 1965, or he might have had to go to Vietnam.
      I have five sons, most of whom are in their forties, who are fortunate they have not had to go to war. I just hope that my grandsons will never have to either.
      The numbers killed in war are stunning – so many young lives lost. I remember when I was a teenager thinking about it and crying for the sheer futility and horror of it.
      I don’t know that we will ever learn! 😦
      I would love to go to the battlefields of France where my granddad was wounded, but I think I might get too upset. I hope the peace that now exists there will remain. Enjoy your trip, Linda. 🙂

  2. I would agree with you. I read a great line on another blog recently (the Traveling Blackberry) that said something similar about what history teaches us is that history doesn’t teach us.

    Really interesting poem! I hadn’t thought Pi would be its own poetic form. Cool!

  3. […] N is for Never-ending […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

Half Baked In Paradise

Searching, settling, sauteeing and spritzing

The Curry Apple Orchard

A blog designed to remember the past and celebrate the present.

barsetshirediaries

A site for the Barsetshire Diaries Books and others

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

Leigh Warren :: Country Music Outlaw

The ramblings of Leigh Warren about himself, country music and maybe... well who knows

Diane Tibert

~ writer - editor - publisher ~

Looking Back

With Mick Roberts. Est. Online 2000

Explore China

Four weeks of flying, cycling, hiking, cruising, eating and exploring

Repurposed Genealogy

Explore What's Possible

Appalachian Ink ~ Home of Anna Wess (and Granny)

Home of Anna Wess, Writer & Ghost Chaser

Myths of the Mirror

Life is make believe, fantasy given form

Writing on the Pages of Life

Exploring, creating and celebrating the writing life

ME and the Boss

Motivation and life......lived and loved one day at a time.

QP and Eye

Easy Going Introvert Blogs Here

Our Rumbling Ocean

Every day brings new adventures

Frederick Anderson

The Journey Home

Victoria Norton

Short stories, poems, and comments on life.

