A toZ Challenge – E is for Embrace the Good

April 6, 2015 at 12:05 am | Posted in Destroying nature, Gratitude, History, Poetry | 13 Comments
Tags: , , , ,

A2Z-BADGE [2015] - Life is Good

 

 

I don’t know about you, but there are many times when I wonder what the world is coming to. I am concerned about wars and what is happening to our environment, the horrible things people do to each other …….

One day, I wrote a poem about it.

 

 

Embrace the Good

 

I’m sitting in my lounge room chair

Thinking about the world’s indirectness;

Reading the paper, trying to understand

All about political correctness;

I’m wondering why they just can’t call

Everything by its proper name –

But every now and then I hear

My children out enjoying their game.

I’m making the beds and listening

To ABC radio’s latest news

When I find that I’m breaking down in tears

At the things that some people choose

To do unto their fellow man;

Why does this always have to be?

But now and then a magpie’s clear song

Breaks into my misery.

I’m walking along a street in town

To the shops and to mail a letter

When I hear someone at the corner proclaim

To all his religion is better.

I despair at the terrible wars that result,

And the suffering that comes from Man’s greed –

But I look at the colourful flowers that grow

And the beauty that comes from their seed.

Sometimes the misery and grief of the world

Seem to fill up the depths of my soul,

And it’s hard to carry on every day;

When the pain is a smouldering coal.

Then someone does a kindly thing

Or I see the smile on a baby’s face,

And I realise there is much good in the world –

It’s this good that I must embrace.

(c)  Linda Visman

13 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Beautifully expressed and the feeling is mutual Linda.

    • Thank you, Don. I think anyone with integrity and feeling would agree. It’s a pity those things are lacking in so many of our leaders! 😦

  2. I really like this. Sometimes all you can do is look for the little spots of sunlight in the day. 🙂

    Cait @ Click’s Clan

    • Hi Cait, thank you for visiting and commenting. 🙂
      Yes, that’s all you can do at times! 😦

  3. Sometimes the bad in the world gets a bit overwhelming, the news is full of it. Children, nature, my family, my neighbour’s cats that visit often :-), these help me put things into perspective. Beautifully expressed.

  4. Ugly sells print and air time, unfortunately …
    Bloggers will eventually be the majority, hopefully …
    Love, hugs and keep a positive attitude …ME

    • Thank you for your kind words. 🙂
      Let’s hope that the voice that is available to ordinary people now through blogging etc can be raised to effect!

  5. Thank you for sharing this heartfelt poem and articulating what many of feel.

  6. It’s late at night here, I’m tired, and the world–micro and macrocosm alike–seems hopeless. But your lovely poem reminds me of the joy to be found in the smallest things: my 87- and 90-year old mother and father can’t get over the perfection of the small bunch of daffodils in full bloom on the dining-room table. Thank you, Linda.

    • I am so pleased that this entry helped you Josna. Things can certainly seem to be unsolveable and depressing.
      I am glad you could see and enjoy and appreciate the daffodils. I hope you can continue to do so. 🙂

  7. […] E is for Embrace the Good […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

The Curry Apple Orchard

A blog designed to remember the past and celebrate the present.

barsetshirediaries

A site for the Barsetshire Diaries Books and others

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

Leigh Warren :: Country Music Outlaw

The ramblings of Leigh Warren about himself, country music and maybe... well who knows

Diane Tibert

~ writer - editor - publisher ~

Looking Back

With Mick Roberts. Est. Online 2000

Explore China

Four weeks of flying, cycling, hiking, cruising, eating and exploring

Repurposed Genealogy

Explore What's Possible

Appalachian Ink ~ Home of Anna Wess (and Granny)

Home of Anna Wess, Writer & Ghost Chaser

Myths of the Mirror

Life is make believe, fantasy given form

Writing on the Pages of Life

Exploring, creating and celebrating the writing life

ME and the Boss

Motivation and life......lived and loved one day at a time.

QP and Eye

Easy Going Introvert Blogs Here

Our Rumbling Ocean

Every day brings new adventures

Victoria Norton

Short stories, poems, and comments on life.

Eatable

Making food intolerances tolerable

