Share Your World – 2015 Week #11

March 19, 2015 at 5:30 pm | Posted in Australia, Family History, Gratitude, Share Your World | 8 Comments
Tags:

Share Your World -blog badge

Here are my responses to Cee’s Share Your World questions for Week 11. Thanks again Cee.

List 2 things you have to be happy about?

  1. The hot weather has been tapering off and the humidity isn’t so high now that we are into autumn. That is such a relief!
  2. I am getting a new (albeit basic) kitchen this week. The sink and counters I have had to work on for the past 10+ years were above height, and I am not very tall. It has been difficult at times to prepare food and wash up at the high sink. In a couple of days, I will have counters that will be comfortable for me to work at, and not so painful!

Do you prefer ketchup or mustard or mayonnaise?  

I don’t often use condiments, pastes or sauces. When I do, it is Australian tomato sauce on sausages. Otherwise I don’t use any really.

If you were to paint a picture of your childhood, what colors would you use?

There would be red for the blood of Catholic martyrs and for my short temper; blue for the Virgin Mary and the beautiful Australian skies; green for the trees and the Australian bush; yellow for the heat of the Australian sun and sand; and black for my depression and feelings of isolation and lack of friends.

Do you prefer a bath or shower?

Definitely a shower. When we came to Australia from England in 1954, we lived in a caravan for 2 years and didn’t have access to either shower or bath – or even a decent toilet. Once we had our tiny cottage, Dad eventually set up a shower in a lean-to attached to the back of it that later became the laundry. That was my first experience of a shower.

We never did have a bath in the house at all, so I grew up with showers. We have a bath now that I have never used in the ten years I’ve been in this house. I get cold in a bath and anyway, I always feel much cleaner after a nice fresh shower.

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

I am very grateful that the huge branches that came down in our back yard in the short sharp and violent storm we had on the weekend didn’t do any more damage than destroying half our rotary clothesline.

This weekend coming up, we are going camping in the bush, away from the world and its problems. I so want to just relax, away from people, and just BE! This is my chance to do that.

Linda Visman

8 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Enjoy your camping trip, Linda. 🙂

  2. Talking of bath or shower reminded me of our house in the Highlands. It had a chip heater to provide a shower over the bath so my father came up with the bright idea of putting coal in the heater. It all melted and was no longer usable so we had to light a fire under the copper in the laundry and carry buckets of water into the house to fill the bath. We only had a bath once a week and the rest of the time “washed up as far as possible and down and far as possible and then washed possible”. Nowadays I only have a bath when my muscles are aching but can’t function before I have my morning shower.

    • All of that sounds like us when we were in the van. Thanks for commenting. It’s great to hear of similar childhood experiences. 🙂

  3. I bet you are just thrilled to get your sink at your own height. That had to be horrible for you. Thanks for sharing.

  4. Thanks for the anniversary wishes. Hard to believe you have been there for more than 10 years! Happy cooking!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

The Curry Apple Orchard

A blog designed to remember the past and celebrate the present.

barsetshirediaries

A site for the Barsetshire Diaries Books and others

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

Leigh Warren :: Country Music Outlaw

The ramblings of Leigh Warren about himself, country music and maybe... well who knows

Diane Tibert

~ writer - editor - publisher ~

Looking Back

With Mick Roberts. Est. Online 2000

Explore China

Four weeks of flying, cycling, hiking, cruising, eating and exploring

Repurposed Genealogy

Explore What's Possible

Appalachian Ink ~ Home of Anna Wess (and Granny)

Home of Anna Wess, Writer & Ghost Chaser

Myths of the Mirror

Life is make believe, fantasy given form

Writing on the Pages of Life

Exploring, creating and celebrating the writing life

ME and the Boss

Motivation and life......lived and loved one day at a time.

QP and Eye

Easy Going Introvert Blogs Here

Our Rumbling Ocean

Every day brings new adventures

Victoria Norton

Short stories, poems, and comments on life.

Eatable

Making food intolerances tolerable

