Photographs on Friday – Sydney Harbour

February 6, 2015 at 11:22 am | Posted in Australia, History, Leisure activities, Sydney Harbour, Tourism | 9 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

We were in Sydney the other day, and decided to take a trip on the Manly Ferry. It is something most Aussies who live in NSW have done, and something tourists often have on their list of things to do. After all, Manly Beach is known world-wide. But, in all the 61 years since I came to Australia, I had never been to Manly, and never taken the Manly ferry.

???????????????????????????????

We have quite a busy harbour. A giant cruise ship was being refuelled as we passed by.

We started at Circular Quay and sailed past some of Sydney’s most iconic landmarks. I took photos of course. Although I only have a cheap point-and-shoot camera, it takes reasonable shots, and I love to go through them when we get home to see what I have caught in the lens.

???????????????????????????????

Sydney Opera House

My outward bound photos weren’t as good as those on the way back, so the only one of Manly Beach is also one of me.

Me sitting on the promenade wall; the southern end of Manly beach behind me.

Me sitting on the promenade wall; the southern end of Manly beach behind me.

The ferry that will take us back to Circular Quay arrives at Manly.

The ferry that will take us back to Circular Quay arrives at Manly.

Most ferries in Sydney Harbour are named after Sydney suburbs or famous people. The one above is named after the suburb of Collaroy.

Sydney Heads, the entrance to the harbour from the Tasman Sea

Sydney Heads, the entrance to the harbour from the Tasman Sea

The last time I saw the Sydney Heads (the headlands that protect the harbour and make it such a fine one), was in March 1954. That was when we arrived in Sydney by ship from England.

Another Sydney ferry passed inside the Heads

Another Sydney ferry passed inside the Heads

A  Whale watching boat takes passengers through the Heads and out to sea.

A Whale watching boat takes passengers through the Heads and out to sea.

I enjoyed capturing some of the boats that ply the Harbour on a regular basis. It is a very popular place for sailing, but vigilance is the watchword, especially on a public holiday.

A sailing boat races along under the influence of the strong southerly breeze.

A sailing boat races along under the influence of the strong southerly breeze.

Heading back towards the city.

Heading back towards the city.

As we approached the city, it was hard to know what to take photos of. We passed the several small islands along the way. Garden Island is the largest and has long been a naval dockyard. A small island houses Fort Denison, built in the 19th century to repel any Russian invasion. I didn’t get decent photos of those, so haven’t included them.

Sydney Harbour Bridge

Sydney Harbour Bridge

As we came into the quay, I took another photo of the huge cruise ship. Re-fuelling had been completed, and I had a clear view of it.

???????????????????????????????

The Carnival Legend cruise ship from Valetta.

Then I thread3ed my way to the other side of the ferry to get a final photo of the Opera House with the sun shining through the grey clouds onto its sails.

The Sydney Opera House lit by afternoon sun

The Sydney Opera House lit by afternoon sun

We certainly have a beautiful harbour – even on a cloudy day like it was.

(c) Linda Visman

9 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Great post, Linda and the photos are stunning. Well done you and the point-and-shoot. I think Manly Beach looks perfect 🙂 It looks like you had a great day out with a few firsts to record.

  2. Thanks for sharing so that the rest of us can enjoy the outing vicariously. The beach doesn’t look very crowded for a famous landmark. Amazing that the last time you saw those headlands was 60 years ago, coming in. Do you have any memories of that?

    • Hi Josna, thanks for the comment. 🙂
      No, even though I was five years old, I have absolutely no memory of coming through the headlands all those years ago. I wish I could remember that and a lot of other things.

    • Oh, and the beach wasn’t busy because the school holidays were over, Josna,. It was also cloudy, with a cool southerly blowing.

  3. […] last week, actually. I wrote about it and posted photos last Friday of our ferry ride to Manly, on the north side of Sydney Harbour. It was a place I had never been to and a ferry ride I’d […]

  4. What we in the north used to call ‘a grand day out’ until Wallace and Grommit filched the phrase. I don’t know about you, but whenever I see one of those huge cruise liners my first thought is – how do you get everybody off if it starts to sink? Call me a pessimist!

    • Frederick, I couldn’t bear to go on one of those cruise liners – they are just a floating city, and I like country!
      Yes, I can imagine what a disaster could occur, given the wrong circumstances. I don’t want to find out.

  5. A trip to Manly was a highlight of my young life! And I still love it. 🙂 Thanks for sharing.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

Half Baked In Paradise

Searching, settling, sauteeing and spritzing

The Curry Apple Orchard

A blog designed to remember the past and celebrate the present.

barsetshirediaries

A site for the Barsetshire Diaries Books and others

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

Leigh Warren :: Country Music Outlaw

The ramblings of Leigh Warren about himself, country music and maybe... well who knows

Diane Tibert

~ writer - editor - publisher ~

Looking Back

With Mick Roberts. Est. Online 2000

Explore China

Four weeks of flying, cycling, hiking, cruising, eating and exploring

Repurposed Genealogy

Explore What's Possible

Appalachian Ink ~ Home of Anna Wess (and Granny)

Home of Anna Wess, Writer & Ghost Chaser

Myths of the Mirror

Life is make believe, fantasy given form

Writing on the Pages of Life

Exploring, creating and celebrating the writing life

ME and the Boss

Motivation and life......lived and loved one day at a time.

QP and Eye

Easy Going Introvert Blogs Here

Our Rumbling Ocean

Every day brings new adventures

Victoria Norton

Short stories, poems, and comments on life.

