Share Your World – 2015 Week #4

January 28, 2015 at 11:36 am | Posted in 1950s, Australia, Family History, Gratitude, Memoir | 6 Comments
Tags: , ,

Share Your World blog badge

How quickly week 4 of this year has come along! Here are my responses to Cee’s week 4 questions on Share Your World.

Where did you live at age five? Is it the same place or town you live now?

Hey, you’re taking over my Memoir Monday topic here!! LOL!

When I turned five, I lived in the Lancashire country town of Oswaldtwistle. Our home was a three-up-three-down, in a row of stone terrace houses that had been built in the 1890s for the workers at the cotton mill across the back alley. Oswaldtwistle was an old cotton town, and so had lots of big mills. However it was quite a small place, and we were close to the surrounding moors.

When I was five and a half, we emigrated to Australia. At first, we (six of us) lived in a fibro migrant cottage with my aunt, uncle and baby cousin. This was in a small rural town in NSW called Dapto.

A couple of months before I turned six, we moved into a small (4-berth) caravan that Dad parked on the edge of Dapto, between a creek and the football ground called Reed Park. Later, we spent a couple of months parked in the foothills of the ranges, next to a dairy farm.

I have lived in many places in several states since then, always in country areas. I now live on the western shores of Lake Macquarie, a 4-hour train ride north of where I grew up. It is another lakeside village.

You are invited to a party that will be attended by many fascinating people you never met. Would you attend this party if you were to go by yourself?

Probably not. If it were just a couple of fascinating people, then I might.

Did you grow up in a small or big town? Did you like it?

Part of my story is in my answer to question 1. When I was about six or seven, Dad bought a block of land south of Dapto, on the shore of Lake Illawarra. It was a rural area, with dairying the main industry, apart from the steelworks at Port Kemble, across the lake. We lived there in the caravan at first, then Dad built the house we all grew up in.

I loved it there. We had open paddocks and bushland, and the lake. Being a girl, I wasn’t allowed to do the things my older brother could, so I was jealous of that. But it was a great place for kids to grow up in. Unfortunately it is no longer the same, having succumbed to the cancer of urban development. Where there were farms, paddocks and bushland, there is now a sea of roofs.

I couldn’t live in a small city, let alone a big one

As a kid, what did you want to be when you grew up?

As a young kid, I didn’t think of the future. As a teenager approaching the end of my schooling, I had a few preferences. I wanted to join the RAAF and be a pilot, like my dad had been during the war. I wanted to be a journalist too. However, being a girl in the early 1960s severely limited career options. Girls were only expected to work until they married, so they had few choices: shop assistant, hairdresser, office assistant, nursing or teaching. I ended up being a teacher.

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

Last week, we had coffee with good friends at an outdoor kiosk by the lake. Last Saturday, I had coffee with another friend, a fellow writer, and we talked books and writing. Both of these were wonderful, and I always enjoy and am grateful for the company of good people.

On Saturday this week, we will be attending the 90th birthday celebrations of another lovely friend.

Linda Visman

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Great snippets Linda, thank you for sharing. Always enjoy reading your contributions to these prompts.

  2. very interesting answers, Linda. 🙂

  3. Thanks so much for sharing with us this week. 🙂

  4. I’m not up on these prompts that bloggers participate in, but very much enjoyed reading this one of yours, that gave me an insight into your early life, your family history of migration, your love for the country, and your life now, all in one short post. What a rich and fascinating life you had as a child! What pioneers our immigrant parents were! And what a lot of changes we’ve seen in our own lifetimes. Thank you. Josna

    • I didn’t like writing to prompts either, Josna, but have found they are great when you want to write but your head won’t come to the party. They get me going and keep me in the daily writing habit.
      Many thanks for visiting and commenting. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

Half Baked In Paradise

Searching, settling, sauteeing and spritzing

The Curry Apple Orchard

A blog designed to remember the past and celebrate the present.

barsetshirediaries

A site for the Barsetshire Diaries Books and others

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

Leigh Warren :: Country Music Outlaw

The ramblings of Leigh Warren about himself, country music and maybe... well who knows

Diane Tibert

~ writer - editor - publisher ~

Looking Back

With Mick Roberts. Est. Online 2000

Explore China

Four weeks of flying, cycling, hiking, cruising, eating and exploring

Repurposed Genealogy

Explore What's Possible

Appalachian Ink ~ Home of Anna Wess (and Granny)

Home of Anna Wess, Writer & Ghost Chaser

Myths of the Mirror

Life is make believe, fantasy given form

Writing on the Pages of Life

Exploring, creating and celebrating the writing life

ME and the Boss

Motivation and life......lived and loved one day at a time.

QP and Eye

Easy Going Introvert Blogs Here

Our Rumbling Ocean

Every day brings new adventures

Frederick Anderson

The Journey Home

Victoria Norton

Short stories, poems, and comments on life.

