Kicking the Habit with Love

January 15, 2015 at 9:47 pm | Posted in Experiences, Friendship, Gratitude, Health, Love | 6 Comments
Tags: , , , ,

Helping each other

 

Yesterday, I read author Kim Kelly’s blog entry on how she gave up smoking. She tells how she overcame the cravings and emotional and physical withdrawal symptoms with the aid of drugs, yes, but also with love – the love and support of her friends. Her post reminded me of my own story.

This is the relatively long comment I wrote on her blog:

The road from nicotine addiction can be a very difficult one indeed, Kim. It is wonderful that you were able to travel it and come to your non-smoking destination. Congratulations indeed.

I gave up smoking almost twelve years ago after having smoked for most of the previous 36 years – one to two packets a day. Unlike you, I enjoyed smoking and, as I lived most of that time in rural and remote areas, I wasn’t alone in the habit. I know I wasn’t physically addicted; I was emotionally addicted.

My five sons tried to get me to give it up but, because I have a stubborn streak, I resisted – for many years.

Then I caught up with a man I hadn’t seen since high school and we fell in love – we were both divorced at the time, and we also lived in different states.

He was willing to take me on, even though he hated the habit – the smell that was all-pervading and the smoking itself.

On my road trip from S.A. to N.S.W., I stayed overnight in a motel at Narrandera. I was outside having a smoke when I called him on my mobile. It was right then and there that I realised that if he wanted me enough to take my disgusting habit too, then I could give it up for him. I put out that cigarette and have not had one since. I haven’t even wanted one.

It is amazing what love can do!

One of my sons, who also worked and lived in the country took up the habit, but he has been a non-smoker now for several years, thank goodness. None of the others took it up.

A friend knows but loves you

I am so glad I gave up smoking. The stench is gone. I no longer allow my money to go up in smoke. I don’t have to isolate myself because of my habit. And my health is so much better. My husband thought he was taking on an invalid at the time, but was still happy to look after me. It turns out that he hasn’t needed to, and I am so glad.

I put it out - you can too

 

Today is the fifth anniversary of my first blog post. I started it in order to get some self-discipline into my writing. It took a long time, but I am getting there.

 

5th anniversary logo

 

Linda Visman

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Congratulations on your blogoversary and for quitting smoking! The longer we keep a habit the harder it is to let go. I have a hard time with discipline for writing time…I’m hoping to get better this year.
    I’ve decided to give up my morning coffee. For years I’ve tried and get terrible headaches for a few days. This years I’m on week two and haven’t had a headache, yay! Perhaps my substitution of herbal tea is helpful.

    • Thanks Suzicate. 🙂 It’s amazing how those years have sped by for both those things!
      I have just one cup of coffee a day and really enjoy it. The rest of the time I drink tea. I’m not going to give up my coffee, but it sounds like you have found the way to give up yours. That’s great. 🙂

  2. It is ironic how we tell our kids to have their breakfast and do their homework but we ourselves fail to heed their warnings such as taking care of our health or driving more carefully. That said I am glad that you finally saw the light and are reaping the rewards.

    • I certainly am, Paul! I think I had to do it when I wanted to – not others! A silly reason I know, but that’s the stubborn part of me. It can work for good or ill. I am glad most of you never took it up & that your brother quit. 🙂

  3. Congratulations, Linda 🙂 You have much to be proud of 🙂

    • Thanks Margaret – though, rather than proud of, I think I have much to be grateful for. 🙂
      Many thanks for the comment.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

The Curry Apple Orchard

A blog designed to remember the past and celebrate the present.

barsetshirediaries

A site for the Barsetshire Diaries Books and others

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

Leigh Warren :: Country Music Outlaw

The ramblings of Leigh Warren about himself, country music and maybe... well who knows

Diane Tibert

~ writer - editor - publisher ~

Looking Back

With Mick Roberts. Est. Online 2000

Explore China

Four weeks of flying, cycling, hiking, cruising, eating and exploring

Repurposed Genealogy

Explore What's Possible

Appalachian Ink ~ Home of Anna Wess (and Granny)

Home of Anna Wess, Writer & Ghost Chaser

Myths of the Mirror

Life is make believe, fantasy given form

Writing on the Pages of Life

Exploring, creating and celebrating the writing life

ME and the Boss

Motivation and life......lived and loved one day at a time.

QP and Eye

Easy Going Introvert Blogs Here

Our Rumbling Ocean

Every day brings new adventures

Victoria Norton

Short stories, poems, and comments on life.

Eatable

Making food intolerances tolerable

