Getting into a Blogging Routine

January 11, 2015 at 10:39 pm | Posted in blogging, Discipline, Writing | 5 Comments
Tags: ,

My friend, also named  Linda, blogs at Queasy Peasy, and she is much more disciplined than I am. Her latest post, 2015 Blog Plan, has at last stirred me to action, and I intend to have a blogging plan of my own.

I actually devised a routine at the start of 2014, but I never even started it, let alone stayed with it. My plan was for three posts a week: Memoir Monday; Wildlife Wednesday; and Freestyle Friday.

I did manage to complete the whole of the April 2014 A to Z Blogging Challenge, and intend to join that again for this year. I have also joined Cee’s Share Your World challenge, and have managed to post every week since I began it in August 2014.

So I have proved that I can rake up the discipline if I want to. After all, if my friend can do it working four days a week, then surely I can when I am retired! I just need now to make a marathon commitment, not just a sprint. And I need to be organised enough to include these blog posts into my already fairly busy schedule.

I intend to join Queasy Peasy in what she is calling her Monday for Memoir. I will continue to post weekly to Cee’s Share Your World. And I will do my best to post an entry each week on Australian flora and fauna (especially from my area) under Wednesday Wildlife.

Now I just need to work out how to make a banner for the memoir and wildlife posts. My friend did tell me how to do it a couple of months ago but I forget now. All right, where is that notebook I wrote the name of the program in?

Linda Visman

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Love it!

  2. WordPress allows you to schedule a post
    ( click on the word EDIT at the end of the publish line
    and enter your schedule on the drop down)
    I am usually twenty days ahead in my writing.
    I have a calendar in front of me with my rotation on it
    (Life Is, Love Is, Happiness Is, and etc…) so that my plan
    is in place for most of the year.
    I try to stay three months ahead on the plan.
    When life interferes with my daily routine, I have no worries for
    a weeks vacation or a day at the beach.
    Haven’t missed a day of posting in over six years.
    Not good luck, better planning …
    Love, hugs and yes you can … ME and the Boss

    • Wonderful suggestion. You are certainly organised! With the vagaries of my life, it is certainly something I will look into, as I often don’t know where I will be from week to week – even day to day sometimes. Scheduling posts would certainly relieve the stress and pressure to produce on time. It is something I have thought of doing, but never investigated the process. Thanks to you, I will now do so, and start working on forthcoming blog posts so I collect a number to have in readiness. Thanks again for the push. 🙂

  3. I used to schedule posts. It’s nice to sit back and relax, knowing that your work will be on show at a certain time and date. These days though I schedule them less often since my main blog is over 90% capacity and I need to be sparing… 🙂
    You would probably find it useful to be able to get in advance with your posts. Best wishes 🙂


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

The Curry Apple Orchard

A blog designed to remember the past and celebrate the present.

barsetshirediaries

A site for the Barsetshire Diaries Books and others

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

Leigh Warren :: Country Music Outlaw

The ramblings of Leigh Warren about himself, country music and maybe... well who knows

Diane Tibert

~ writer - editor - publisher ~

Looking Back

With Mick Roberts. Est. Online 2000

Explore China

Four weeks of flying, cycling, hiking, cruising, eating and exploring

Repurposed Genealogy

Explore What's Possible

Appalachian Ink ~ Home of Anna Wess (and Granny)

Home of Anna Wess, Writer & Ghost Chaser

Myths of the Mirror

Life is make believe, fantasy given form

Writing on the Pages of Life

Exploring, creating and celebrating the writing life

ME and the Boss

Motivation and life......lived and loved one day at a time.

QP and Eye

Easy Going Introvert Blogs Here

Our Rumbling Ocean

Every day brings new adventures

Victoria Norton

Short stories, poems, and comments on life.

Eatable

Making food intolerances tolerable

