H is for Home

April 9, 2014 at 2:51 pm | Posted in Experiences, Family, Society, Travel, Ways of Living | 2 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

 

A2Z-BADGE-000 [2014]

 

home-is-the-nicest-word-quote

The word ‘home’ evokes strong feelings in people, more than most words. There are many sayings about it – “Home is where the heart is” and “There’s no place like home”, among others.

Many poems and songs are written about home, expressing a love of and a longing for home, or a desire to leave it.

BillCosby Children come back home

However, when we look at a dictionary for a definition, we get one that in no way reflects those feelings.

The UK Oxford Dictionary: the place where one lives permanently, especially as a member of a family or household.

Free dictionary has nine definitions of the word, and most of them also relate to a place or structure wherein one dwells. But one of those meanings does actually capture what really lies behind the word for most people:

Home is: a. An environment offering security and happiness; b. A valued place regarded as a refuge or place of origin.

Elizabeth-Gaskell-home quote

Of course, home is not always a refuge or a place of safety and security, but when it is written of in song and poem, that is what it means.

Home is where one starts from, T. S. Eliot.

Where thou art, that is home, a poem by Emily Dickinson.

Linda&Pauline T abt 1955

So, what happens if a person travels a lot and does not ‘settle down’ in one place? Does that person have no home; or if they live in many different houses in different places?

My brother has travelled and lived in a small camper van (mobile home) for many years. Does he have a home? He certainly does – his home is his van.

And my own situation: ever since I first married at the age of twenty, I have lived in more houses in more places than I can remember. The longest in one place, until where I now live, was six years. Have all of those places been a home to me?

73KoonaSt.1965-350

Yes, they have; all of them. As Maya Angelou says,  I long, as does every human being, to be at home wherever I find myself.

It is not the building or place that makes a home as far as I am concerned. Some of the homes in which I lived weren’t the best, others have been lovely.

The condition of the house, flat, caravan, etc, made no difference to me. It was and still is the people with whom I share that place with.

homeis where heart is

Until I was twenty, it was my parents and siblings, even when we lived in a caravan. Then it was my husband and our children, until we separated. After that, it was other people with whom I lived and whom I felt close to.

Any old place I can hang my hat is home sweet home to me, the title of a song by William Jerome.

What-I-love-most-my-home

 

What does home mean to you?

 

© Linda Visman 09.04.2014

 

 

 

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. To be home wherever we find ourselves is a reflection of being comfortable in our own skin and being able to enjoy our own company. I enjoyed the texture of the post Linda, it has visual appeal as well as lovely sentimental snippets that give a glimpse into the lives of others. It made me smile; thank you 🙂

    • Thank you Linda 0 glad you enjoyed it.
      Yes, you are right, and I barely touched on that aspect of being at home. Being comfortable with yourself makes it easy to be at home wherever you find yourself. Thanks for your visit and comment. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

The Curry Apple Orchard

A blog designed to remember the past and celebrate the present.

barsetshirediaries

A site for the Barsetshire Diaries Books and others

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

Leigh Warren :: Country Music Outlaw

The ramblings of Leigh Warren about himself, country music and maybe... well who knows

Diane Tibert

~ writer - editor - publisher ~

Looking Back

With Mick Roberts. Est. Online 2000

Explore China

Four weeks of flying, cycling, hiking, cruising, eating and exploring

Repurposed Genealogy

Explore What's Possible

Appalachian Ink ~ Home of Anna Wess (and Granny)

Home of Anna Wess, Writer & Ghost Chaser

Myths of the Mirror

Life is make believe, fantasy given form

Writing on the Pages of Life

Exploring, creating and celebrating the writing life

ME and the Boss

Motivation and life......lived and loved one day at a time.

QP and Eye

Easy Going Introvert Blogs Here

Our Rumbling Ocean

Every day brings new adventures

Victoria Norton

Short stories, poems, and comments on life.

Eatable

Making food intolerances tolerable

