One Year Ends – A New One Begins

December 31, 2013 at 3:24 pm | Posted in Mental Health, Publishing, Writing, Writing and Life | 7 Comments
Tags: , , , ,

Picture thanks to www.uberkate.com.au Facebook page

Picture thanks to http://www.uberkate.com.au Facebook page

I wanted to have finished my second novel by the end of this year – 2013, but I haven’t made it.

Many reasons.

My father’s illness and death in the first half of the year meant frequent trips away from home, for several weeks at a time.

Doing slow but steady, and heavy physical work on our backyard terracing often left little energy for creative thought.

Writing group commitments and creation of its newsletter/magazine took up some of the time I could have used for writing.

But the main reason was more than any of these.

I could have made much better use of my time.

I could have written much more had I not allowed myself to be side-tracked by social media. I could have been both creative and  productive had I ignored all the things that had me procrastinating: tiredness, laziness, unnecessary tasks, etc.

If you want to write

But mostly, if I had tackled my fears and uncertainties regarding my writing by getting pen in hand and words on paper, I would have not only created and built a story, but would have proved that I could build and write it.

So, with another 365 days ahead of me, my intention is to write! To complete the first draft of my novel, to edit it, and to get it ready for publication. And I will do this before June of 2014.

There are many other writing projects in the planning or partially executed that I will complete this year; the smaller ones that have been waiting to be published for a few years. And I will begin my next major project. Not “I hope to”, but “I will”.

Those 365 blank pages do not need to be tainted by my fears, or left blank by my procrastination.

I will go forth and write!

Don't wait for perfect time

(c) Linda Visman  31.12.2013

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Sounds wonderful Linda. Wish you well with the novel. I admire you. What a venture. Writing always is.

  2. You go girl! You can do it! You have had a tough year. 2014 is your time to write! I’ll be nipping at your heels if you don’t!

  3. Best of luck, Linda! I hope everything goes smoothly and you achieve your goals. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

The Curry Apple Orchard

A blog designed to remember the past and celebrate the present.

barsetshirediaries

A site for the Barsetshire Diaries Books and others

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

Leigh Warren :: Country Music Outlaw

The ramblings of Leigh Warren about himself, country music and maybe... well who knows

Diane Tibert

~ writer - editor - publisher ~

Looking Back

With Mick Roberts. Est. Online 2000

Explore China

Four weeks of flying, cycling, hiking, cruising, eating and exploring

Repurposed Genealogy

Explore What's Possible

Appalachian Ink ~ Home of Anna Wess (and Granny)

Home of Anna Wess, Writer & Ghost Chaser

Myths of the Mirror

Life is make believe, fantasy given form

Writing on the Pages of Life

Exploring, creating and celebrating the writing life

ME and the Boss

Motivation and life......lived and loved one day at a time.

QP and Eye

Easy Going Introvert Blogs Here

Our Rumbling Ocean

Every day brings new adventures

Victoria Norton

Short stories, poems, and comments on life.

Eatable

Making food intolerances tolerable

