The Australian Bush Calls

July 14, 2013 at 3:18 pm | Posted in Australia, Nature, Ways of Living | 9 Comments
Tags: , , , ,

Australian_bush

Every time we drive past an area of bushland – especially where there are no farms or cleared land, it’s as if a strong piece of string is tied to something within me. This string pulls at me with a tug that I feel in the heart and gut. I am called to wander in that bushland, unencumbered by modern possessions, to follow the animal tracks and be guided only by the ancient lights in the sky.

I feel a strong urge to feel the earth, the fallen leaves and twigs, and the rough grass against my feet. To be sheltered among the eucalypt, grevillea and banksia of the dry forest, the paperbark melaleuca and the casuarina of the wetlands. In natural forest clearings, I want to feel the warm sun and the cool breeze on my skin.

Wet sclerophyll forest Wet sclerophyll forest

I long to experience it all; to be at one with the plants and animals of the bush. I want to shed the trappings of civilisation, with their stresses and expectations, and go back to the primitive within me that hears the call. I have felt this call more mildly ever since I was a child but now, in my later years, it is strong and insistent.

It’s not that I want to be there forever, but I want to be immersed in nature for long enough to become connected – or re-connected – to the reality and the spirituality of nature; and I would like to do it more than once.

Dry eucalypt forest

I know that I couldn’t live in the wild for long, as I have not learned the needed skills. But I believe I could at least come to a partial understanding of nature’s ways, and to a greater appreciation of its relevance – indeed, to its essential and continuing importance – for humanity. For if we lose that connection that it is fast becoming a tenuous one, we will also lose ourselves and all that has given us life.

Bushfire_Cristina_Ramalho liveablecities.org.au

© Linda Visman

9 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Wonderful post Linda. I identify with all you say. That connection you speak of is embedded in all of us and I think it’s just a matter of how conscious we are of it.

    • Thanks, Don. I just saw your latest painting on your blog, and I can see that we are on the same wavelength.

  2. The feeling is especially strong when it is pristine or almost untouched forest or land. It is a pity that there is so little left and it always seems to be decreasing. Man made parks are nothing in comparison.
    We need real nature to know ourselves.

    • You are so right, Paul. Man-made parks are nothing like the way real nature is. Although they are great for those who cannot, or don’t want to, experience real nature, there is too much control about them and not enough of the original soul.

  3. What a lovely post Linda. Very lyrical and moving. I feel it too but in a different way – more as the space around me. Love the scenery in the train particularly around Dungog. That wide open space and the trees! I think we all should escape from time to time.

    • Many thanks, Debbie! Yes, I do think we all need to connect with nature in some form – as often as possible. I believe we would all benefit from it.

  4. Like you, I love the bushland. I’m lucky to live near to a delightful park which boasts no fewer than 114 species of birds. For me, their sights and sounds are a real highlight., though I cannot claim to have seen even half this number. It’s important to encourage people to connect or re-connect with nature.

    • So true, Margaret! So true. We are indeed fortunate to have that access to nature that many do not.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

The Curry Apple Orchard

A blog designed to remember the past and celebrate the present.

barsetshirediaries

A site for the Barsetshire Diaries Books and others

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

Leigh Warren :: Country Music Outlaw

The ramblings of Leigh Warren about himself, country music and maybe... well who knows

Diane Tibert

~ writer - editor - publisher ~

Looking Back

With Mick Roberts. Est. Online 2000

Explore China

Four weeks of flying, cycling, hiking, cruising, eating and exploring

Repurposed Genealogy

Explore What's Possible

Appalachian Ink ~ Home of Anna Wess (and Granny)

Home of Anna Wess, Writer & Ghost Chaser

Myths of the Mirror

Life is make believe, fantasy given form

Writing on the Pages of Life

Exploring, creating and celebrating the writing life

ME and the Boss

Motivation and life......lived and loved one day at a time.

QP and Eye

Easy Going Introvert Blogs Here

Our Rumbling Ocean

Every day brings new adventures

Victoria Norton

Short stories, poems, and comments on life.

Eatable

Making food intolerances tolerable

