The Next Big Thing – Thursday’s Child

January 18, 2013 at 11:16 am | Posted in Australia, History, Society, Ways of Living, Writing and Life | 9 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I have been tagged by Pete Abela, author of Wings, in The Next Big Thing blog meme. In this, writers answer a series of questions about their work in progress, and then pass the baton to other writers. Here are my responses to the questions.

1) What is the working title of your current/next book?

Thursday’s Child.

2) Where did the idea come from?

I am interested in and write about the world of 1950s Australia, the conservative values of the times, the nature of issues like sex, race and ethnicity. Whereas most people today understand that it’s wrong to discriminate against difference (even if they would like to), discrimination and intolerance were accepted and normal behaviour back then.

There was universal condemnation of sex before marriage and especially in any resulting pregnancy. It was still the days of shotgun marriages or adopting out ‘unwanted’ babies.

A victim of rape was seen as having ‘asked for it’, even when completely innocent, and suffered much more than the rapist. If it went to court, every tiny detail of the victim’s past behaviour was open to public scrutiny as she tried to prove the crime, while the rapist went almost unquestioned. The shame and stigma lasted into the next generation.

There was racial and cultural stereotyping. Indigenous people were seen as inferior, so you didn’t admit if you had any coloured ancestry. Nor did you admit convict forebears – something that today makes you a ‘founding parent’ was then looked on with shame.

3) What genre does your book fall under?

Like my first novel, I see it as a coming-of-age story, a Young Adult story set in a historical past.

4) What actors would you choose to play the part of your characters in a movie rendition?

I rarely watch TV or movies (though I suppose I should), so I’m afraid that I have no idea of actors today. I cannot say who would fit, but the main character should be able to play a bright but innocent girl who finds the strength to get through adversity.

5) What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

When 15-year-old Jessica undergoes a terrifying ordeal, she faces the censure of the local community, and has to somehow find the strength and support that she needs to face her changed future.

6) Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

I will try to attract an agent or publisher, though my first book, Ben’s Challenge was unsuccessful in doing so. Perhaps a small Australian publisher will take it on. Otherwise, as with “Ben’s Challenge”, I will self-publish.

7) How long did it take you to write the first draft?

Well, I was twelve chapters into a follow-up of my first novel, Ben’s Challenge, when I realised that the story I wanted to tell and the issues I wanted to explore just wouldn’t fit  into the situation I had created there; I would have to start over completely and create new characters and new places. Because of this, I haven’t progressed very far yet. I have the outline and the character arcs and the first few chapters done. I am not a fast writer, but hope to have the first draft completed by the end of 2013.

8) What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

I really cannot think of any. My story is reality-based and set in a conservative society (1950s country Australia). Many authors deal with contemporary situations in a contemporary urban world, and many other writers for teens and Young Adults concentrate on fantasy. I would like to find more stories like mine available to young adult readers.

9) Who or what inspired you to write this book?

Thursday’s Child came out of my first book, as I said, where my aim was to show young people the society in which their parents or grandparents grew up, before the social revolution that came with the sixties and seventies. Many are unaware of a time before computers, mobile phones and electronic gadgetry. It is still my aim to tell it like it was back then, and how much society has changed since those times.

10) What else about the book might pique the reader’s interest?

Many young readers might be surprised to discover that their parents and grandparents had  to deal with similar feelings and issues to them when they were young .

Now I have to tag four or five other writers. One of my intended tags, Chris Allen, has already done the challenge; others were unable to participate. The authors I have tagged below are Australian. Their work and/or support (as well as that of my tagger, Pete Abela)  have encouraged me to keep on with my own writing.

Debbie Robson, writer of historical and modern fiction. Author of Tomaree and Crossing Paths: the BookCrossing novel

Sandra James, writer and publisher of Positive Words magazine.

 

© Linda Visman 18 January 2013

 

9 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I wish you well with the book, Linda.

  2. I enjoyed that Linda. Keep at it, lol. Now that I’m tagged does someone contact me? Or do I just do a blog answering the questions above?

    • Hi Debbie. You now go ahead and answer the series of questions, saying you were tagged by me and explaining what The Next Big Thing is. At the end, you tag 4-5 other authors to carry on the meme on their blogs.
      I am looking forward to reading yours :-).

  3. It sounds like ‘Thursday’s Child’ will be an interesting read, Linda. I’m looking forward to seeing it.

  4. Thanks again for last weekend. I enjoyed meeting you all. I’ve had another look at your blog of The Next Big Thing and you should definitely keep going. The 1950s is a neglected decade as far as fiction in Australia goes and your wip highlighting the stifling attitude of the times is one that really needs to be put out there, particularly for the young. The movie the Sapphires (which I would recommend if you haven’t seen it) touched on it but there is definitely room for your novel too.

    • Thanks Debbie, I am keeping at it. It was great to have you on Saturday. 🙂 Unfortunately we missed The Sapphires when it was in the area, but will certainly get it on DVD.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

Half Baked In Paradise

Searching, settling, sauteeing and spritzing

The Curry Apple Orchard

A blog designed to remember the past and celebrate the present.

barsetshirediaries

A site for the Barsetshire Diaries Books and others

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

Leigh Warren :: Country Music Outlaw

The ramblings of Leigh Warren about himself, country music and maybe... well who knows

Diane Tibert

~ writer - editor - publisher ~

Looking Back

With Mick Roberts. Est. Online 2000

Explore China

Four weeks of flying, cycling, hiking, cruising, eating and exploring

Repurposed Genealogy

Explore What's Possible

Appalachian Ink ~ Home of Anna Wess (and Granny)

Home of Anna Wess, Writer & Ghost Chaser

Myths of the Mirror

Life is make believe, fantasy given form

Writing on the Pages of Life

Exploring, creating and celebrating the writing life

ME and the Boss

Motivation and life......lived and loved one day at a time.

QP and Eye

Easy Going Introvert Blogs Here

Our Rumbling Ocean

Every day brings new adventures

Frederick Anderson

The Journey Home

Victoria Norton

Short stories, poems, and comments on life.

