Bringing Back the Past

May 27, 2012 at 10:09 pm | Posted in Australia, Making History, Publishing, Writing, Writing and Life | 12 Comments
Tags: , , , ,

    

  I have been writing a personal journal on and off for a long time – probably about forty years.

When I was a girl, I had one of those little diaries with a clasp and a key, a special gift I received one birthday when my parents had a little extra money. But you can’t write much in a few small lines, and we couldn’t afford more exercise books than we had to get for school. So, during my teens, I didn’t write much at all.

I wrote a little during my twenties and thirties, but my latest stint of journal writing has been a constant for the last ten years or so. It has been a great help in keeping me sane and in helping me sort out what my life is about. Now, it also helps me work out my writing problems.

I had always wanted to do more than write diary/journal entries. I was great at writing essays, reports, analyses, but I lacked the confidence to try writing stories or poetry.

Then, in 2005 when in my mid-fifties and with my husband’s encouragement, I undertook a short creative writing course. That course opened a door for me that had been stuck since my childhood.

Short stories flowed from my pen. I tried writing poetry to improve my imagery and to cut down the word count in my stories – it worked. I even did well in competitions. I wrote more short stories. Then I did what I had never believed myself capable of – I wrote a novel. It was good – my writing group said so, and so did others who read the drafts.

I am sure it could be improved, but I cannot afford to employ a professional editor. There is also no chance of a writer like me getting either an agent or a publisher. The only way I could get it ‘out there’ was to self-publish it. Thankfully, self-publishing has become more acceptable today, though there is still a taint of amateurishness and vanity publishing to it.

My novel was originally written for middle grades and young adults. The main character is thirteen-year-old Ben who, with his friend Joe, tries to find out who killed Ben’s father. One of the main reasons I wrote it was to show today’s younger generation what life was like in an Australian farming community back in the 1950s.

However, nostalgia has become a strong drawcard for my generation. So much has changed since we were young that it has been difficult at times to come to terms with this new world. Many of us hanker for the more simple and innocent times we knew as children and teenagers. As a result, Ben’s Challenge has found its main readership among the Baby Boomer generation.

I am working on a follow-up, using the same main characters, but with a different theme to the story. I still would like youngsters to read it and compare their way of life with that of kids like Ben and Joe who grew up in the 1950s. But if the Baby Boomers take to it, then that’s all right with me. Anyway, it is the writing itself  that is really the most important to me.

© Linda Visman

27th may 2012

12 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. That’s really inspirational Linda. I hope the sales are going well. 🙂

    • Thank you very much. As I am not an entrepreneur or a salesperson, my book doesn’t have the marketing and sales push that it requires to get attention. Therefore, sales have been slow since the initial launch. It is the writing that is important to me more than the sales, but I would like to get more of the latter :-).

      • And I think it’s hard to self-promote. It feels egotistical and most of us were brought up to be modest about our achievements.

  2. Great post Linda. Very interesting to see the progression of your writing journey.

  3. Reblogged this on Wangiwriter's Blog and commented:

    This is a post I wrote over three years ago about my novel, set in late 1950s Australia.
    I mention towards the end that I am writing a second novel. This is taking longer than I expected it to. Also, the characters are different to what I originally envisaged – a follow-up to the first novel.
    Instead, the main character is a 14-15 year old girl. The setting is still rural Australia, but a couple of years later – 1960-61. And my aim in writing is also similar to that in my first novel, though with a different theme.

  4. Good on you for writing a novel. I (like many others) feel I have at least one novel in me but at 64 still haven’t started it. I’m afraid it’s only travel blogs and my daily diary at this stage. You are a great inspiration and maybe a writing course would be the catalyst for me too.

  5. Ben is a great book Linda and even though I didn’t grow up in the same country in which the book was written there was much to which I could relate. It is well written and well worth the purchase. Your muse is waiting for another catalyst to unleash the flow be ready for when it arrives 🙂 Keep up the good work. Great effort.

    • Thanks, Linda.
      I sometimes become discouraged when I can’t – or don’t – or won’t make time to get on with my second novel. It is so far along the way that only a few more chapters are needed. I hope the muse overcomes my procrastinating tendencies so that I can get it finished. 🙂

  6. I enjoyed reading your first novel and look forward to the next one. Self publishing is such a great opportunity to get our stories out there. Like you, I cannot afford to pay a professional editor, but I have a wonderful sister who does all of my editing and proof reading for me.

    • My hubby is a great proof-reader, so much so that another writing friend has him proofread her books. 🙂
      So glad you enjoyed “Ben’s Challenge, Kristah. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

Half Baked In Paradise

Searching, settling, sauteeing and spritzing

The Curry Apple Orchard

A blog designed to remember the past and celebrate the present.

barsetshirediaries

A site for the Barsetshire Diaries Books and others

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

Leigh Warren :: Country Music Outlaw

The ramblings of Leigh Warren about himself, country music and maybe... well who knows

Diane Tibert

~ writer - editor - publisher ~

Looking Back

With Mick Roberts. Est. Online 2000

Explore China

Four weeks of flying, cycling, hiking, cruising, eating and exploring

Repurposed Genealogy

Explore What's Possible

Appalachian Ink ~ Home of Anna Wess (and Granny)

Home of Anna Wess, Writer & Ghost Chaser

Myths of the Mirror

Life is make believe, fantasy given form

Writing on the Pages of Life

Exploring, creating and celebrating the writing life

ME and the Boss

Motivation and life......lived and loved one day at a time.

QP and Eye

Easy Going Introvert Blogs Here

Our Rumbling Ocean

Every day brings new adventures

Victoria Norton

Short stories, poems, and comments on life.

