Making Lists

March 22, 2012 at 10:39 pm | Posted in Writing | 8 Comments
Tags: , , ,

To-do lists, bucket lists, grocery lists, gift lists, wish lists, book lists, the list goes on…

I have lived-by-list ever since I began making grocery lists when I first married – my family knows, or can work out how long ago that was (Oh, all right, it was 43 years ago, but to a different fellow than the one I am married to now)!

Lists certainly are great motivators. You have to write the list first, of course. Then, when you look at the list – yes, you have to actually consult it – you may either choose a task from anywhere on it  or do the next one on the list. There is great satisfaction when you can tick off a completed. It makes you feel you have gotten somewhere – even if it wasn’t very far.

But lists have a greater power than that.

I find that having a list helps me to remember what I want to do, what I need to do, and what I must do.

When my five sons were young, I used lists to allocate tasks to those who had the time, the ability or inclination to do them (money provides the incentive there: no completed tasks for the week = no pocket money). I was on the list too., though I didn’t get any extra pocket money.

Lists can organise and prioritise your tasks, from lesser to most important, thus have a great impact on your choice of which tasks to take on at a particular time.

Even if a list is long, it can be broken up into separate lists for short, medium or long term, easy, difficult, or awaiting a time when everything else is in place so it can get done.

I make lists in my writing too – of characters, plot points, research items needed, topics to blog about, items submitted to the newsletter I publish for out writers’ group. I even make lists of inspirational, funny or otherwise appropriate quotes to use in my writing.

     My husband and I sometimes even find it difficult to get through a day now without our lists – the ones that tell us which medical appointments we have to attend (more of those than we’d like), bills that still need paying, what maintenance tasks need doing or completing, and when we need to meet people and attend engagements.

     While I may remember the items on my grocery shop list, I will almost invariably forget an appointment or commitment if I haven’t made a note of it.

     I have also found the making of lists to be a great way of re-cycling those bill-carrying envelopes that come in the mail, though they come less frequently now, when more and more bills are paid electronically.

    I have a pile of blank-backed envelopes tucked on a shelf corner in the pantry, and I use the backs of them to write my lists on. I also cut up printer paper scraps that I have double-side printed drafts and other temporary items onto. These sit on my desk. The way both piles stay at the same height convinces me that it will be some time before they run out.

     I really do want to avoid becoming obsessive about list-keeping, however. So, now and then, I will avoid looking at a list for a whole day. It must be working, because things still get done – just not always the things that were on my to-do list.

How important are lists to you? Can you manage without them, or are they an essential part of your life?

 

“I have always lived my life by making lists: lists of people to call, lists of ideas, lists of companies to set up, lists of people who can make things happen. Each day I work through these lists, and that sequence of calls propels me forward.” ~ Richard Branson

 

This blog post was inspired by my nephew. Here is, Pete Abela’s own blog post about lists.

 

© Linda Visman

22nd March 2012

8 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I should probably keep more practical lists because they are very helpful. I do love lists and can’t resist when I run across a “best of” or some other list. If someone proposes a list blogfest especially pertaining to something like music or movies I invariably have to join in. I like comparing my favorites to those of others–mine are usually very different.

    Lee
    An A to Z Co-Host
    Tossing It Out

    • A good thing we are all different, Arlee – I wouldn’t want us all to have the same items on every list! Many thanks for dropping in and commenting.

  2. Writing down the To Dos and making lists are the only ways I can remember things in my head. I always have several categories of lists going, even for life long goals and the best part is crossing off things when accomplished!

    • I am the same, Bela – and those ticks or cross-outs are great to see taking over on a long list. Thanks for calling in and commenting. Regards.

  3. I love lists too! I keep lists on my fridge. At the moment, they consist of: grocery list; baby names list; things to do list; places to go/visit list; career ideas and dreams list. My lists are quite fluid however, and may change over time as my life changes, so not everything gets ticked off, but some things get rubbed off when I no longer aspire to them.

    I looked at my ‘household things to-do list’ the other day and felt very satisfied that we have crossed off 95% of the list! (Only took two years!)

    • Yet another thing we have in common Diane! I love the baby names list especially, and wonder if it has gotten down to one yet. My lists can also be quite fluid too, especially when I spill my coffee on them from trying to add yet another item whilst doing something else :-).
      That list of aspirations is idea is a good one, and it is through making such lists I think that we find out how our aspirations do change over time. Congrats on getting 95% of the household wish list complete! Though I’m sure that will grow again once the baby comes and things get added instead of taken away – but what a great way to grow a list!

      • I forgot to mention, Diane, that I look forward to your blog posts, and have wanted to write replies to most of them. However, each time I do try to do it, my credentials don’t seem to be accepted, though I can comment on most other blogspot blogs I read.
        Don’t want you to think I have forgotten you! 🙂

  4. I occasionally make lists but not everyday. It’s strange but in CP two of my character’s make lists and one in Tomaree!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a weekly blog on daily living

Half Baked In Paradise

Searching, settling, sauteeing and spritzing

The Curry Apple Orchard

A blog designed to remember the past and celebrate the present.

barsetshirediaries

A site for the Barsetshire Diaries Books and others

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

Leigh Warren :: Country Music Outlaw

The ramblings of Leigh Warren about himself, country music and maybe... well who knows

Diane Tibert

~ writer - editor - publisher ~

Looking Back

With Mick Roberts. Est. Online 2000

Explore China

Four weeks of flying, cycling, hiking, cruising, eating and exploring

Repurposed Genealogy

Explore What's Possible

Appalachian Ink ~ Home of Anna Wess (and Granny)

Home of Anna Wess, Writer & Ghost Chaser

Myths of the Mirror

Life is make believe, fantasy given form

Writing on the Pages of Life

Exploring, creating and celebrating the writing life

ME and the Boss

Motivation and life......lived and loved one day at a time.

QP and Eye

Easy Going Introvert Blogs Here

Our Rumbling Ocean

Every day brings new adventures

Frederick Anderson

The Journey Home

Victoria Norton

Short stories, poems, and comments on life.

