Help! How do I ….?

October 20, 2011 at 1:43 pm | Posted in Promotion, Writing | 2 Comments
Tags: , , , , ,

I have been wondering how to make my wordpress blog into something more than ‘just a blog’.

I am a writer. I write articles for our local writing group magazine. My short stories and poems have been published in several anthologies and periodicals. I have self-published my novel, “Ben’s Challenge” (with a link on this page).

I need to get out there – wherever ‘out there’ is, in order to make my work better known and available to prospective readers. But how do I do that, beyond Facebook, this blog (which has few readers) and my old-fashioned website that doesn’t even allow pictures to be displayed on my main page? And, how do I do it without spending all my time on it? After all, I want to continue writing my next book.

I am not a techno whiz, though I use computers for many things. I have only just learned how to use widgets, and was very proud of myself when Iworked out how to put up my novel’s front cover, as well as a click link to Amazon, on this page.

However, I don’t understand what a lot of the options are, or what they are supposed to do, and I don’t have much time to get in and play around with them. Besides, I am also afraid of this stuff, and I don’t want to destroy what I already have. There is nobody around who I can call on either; especially, there is nobody who can show me what to do in a way that I will understand, and then be able to carry on doing what I need to do.

So, what do others out there do when you are stuck? How do you learn ‘stuff’ to help you promote your writing – or any other product? And how do you do it when your income is small and you cannot afford to call on experts? I hope someone can help me.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Write compelling stuff! No one needs anything fancy — blog 3 times a week. Use photos every time (use Zemanta.) Tell great stories. I have 510 subscribers (took me a year — 10 showed up just this week.)

    Come visit….

    I’m guessing you’re in NZ because of your header…talk about New Zealand?

  2. Hi, and thanks for your comment. Yes, I do need to blog more frequently, and I will be doing that.
    I am actually in Australia – the birds are Rainbow Lorikeets, and I took the photo at my home, where there are lots of them. I will write about this beautiful country, as it is here that my books are set. Thank you!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

Half Baked In Paradise

Searching, settling, sauteeing and spritzing

The Curry Apple Orchard

A blog designed to remember the past and celebrate the present.

barsetshirediaries

A site for the Barsetshire Diaries Books and others

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

Leigh Warren :: Country Music Outlaw

The ramblings of Leigh Warren about himself, country music and maybe... well who knows

Diane Tibert

~ writer - editor - publisher ~

Looking Back

With Mick Roberts. Est. Online 2000

Explore China

Four weeks of flying, cycling, hiking, cruising, eating and exploring

Repurposed Genealogy

Explore What's Possible

Appalachian Ink ~ Home of Anna Wess (and Granny)

Home of Anna Wess, Writer & Ghost Chaser

Myths of the Mirror

Life is make believe, fantasy given form

Writing on the Pages of Life

Exploring, creating and celebrating the writing life

ME and the Boss

Motivation and life......lived and loved one day at a time.

QP and Eye

Easy Going Introvert Blogs Here

Our Rumbling Ocean

Every day brings new adventures

Victoria Norton

Short stories, poems, and comments on life.

