Finding My Muse

February 2, 2010 at 4:49 am | Posted in Writing and Life | 15 Comments
Tags: , , ,

“My Muse is a beautiful fairy queen named Titania,” a member of the group volunteers.

“Oh, mine’s a gorgeous hunk called Kurt,” chimes in another.

“I’ve heard Vera’s is a cricket who lives on her shoulder,” giggles a third. “She calls him Jiminy.”

“What’s your muse, Linda?” The leader of the writing group looks at me.

“Muse? Oh, I don’t have a muse. I just write or I don’t write. There’s no muse involved.”

“But everyone has a Muse. Even the ancient Greeks had Muses.”

“Well, of course they did.” I say. “That’s where the whole thing came from. The nine daughters of some god or other. I even know that Erata is the Muse of Poetry. It’s always in crossword puzzles.”

“Yes, but why don’t you have a muse?” asks the one with the hunk “I couldn’t write without mine.”

–  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –

And thus, for some writers, it goes. They have a muse. They need their muse in order to write. If their muse is having a snit or a bad hair day, they disappear. Sometimes, they take off for foreign parts and take their time getting back. Now, I’m not sure that I want a muse if they are so pernicketty. It seems to me that it is easier to write your own words than to rely on someone who could be so uncaring as to leave you in the lurch without even an explanation.

However, so many people have spoken about muses, that I decided I had better find out more about them. Perhaps even look around and see if there was a spare one going that might like to take me on for a trial period. I’d want a good solid contract though if we clicked; no sloping off when the going gets hard. But then, when I come to think about it, I wonder if I don’t already have a muse. Is it one I am unacquainted with perhaps? One that suddenly did a bunk on me last year.

See, I went for months unable to write more than a few scribbles here and there. I had no inspiration, no enthusiasm, no joy in writing. Prior to that, I’d been on a roll, writing poetry and short stories, and really getting into my novel. Then it all stopped. Writing became a chore I had to work at. I was easily distracted and couldn’t focus. Admittedly, I was tired, and I don’t think too well then, but it seemed to be more than that. Perhaps I did have a muse and it had been working too hard, without any acknowledgement and had decided to take a break. Maybe it was suffering from burn-out. Whatever the case, I reckoned I’d just have to get myself in order and my writing would pick up.

Then, a major health crisis cropped up. I expected there would be no real writing going on for some months while I underwent chemotherapy. And yet, one night, lying in bed for hours unable to sleep, several brilliant ideas relating to my novel came to me out of the blue. I didn’t get up and write them down and, by the time I got round to writing next day, I couldn’t remember most of them. Oh well, I thought. I was probably half dreaming anyway. Then, the next night, I had another brilliant idea, this time for a short story. I got up and made notes. Next day, I wrote… and wrote…and wrote. Mmm, I wondered. What brought this on? Do I really have a muse, and has it suddenly returned from its extended holiday?

As I vacuumed the floor a couple of days later, I pondered on how and when my ideas come. I realised that, as an insomniac, it is very often during the night that I am inspired. Lost in thought, I backed into my glass cabinet and sent several ornaments skidding across the shelves. Opening the glass door, I rearranged the several dozen owls I have in there, closed the door and went back to the vacuum cleaner. When that chore was done I returned to my study. The little silver owl that sits on my desk had fallen over, so I picked it up. Then I straightened the owl feather that’s stuck on top of the monitor with Blu-Tack®.

And it hit me. If I really do have a muse, it must be an owl. Other people have animals that inspire them, so why not me? I love owls. Their big eyes seem to hold so much knowledge and wisdom. Their feathers are so soft that they can swoop with almost no sound. And yet they are efficient predators – nothing soft about how they make their living. They are perfect as a muse: intelligent, wise, efficient, subtle, and good hunters. Are they creative too?

Well, I have been collecting owls – or people have been giving them to me – for about forty years now. They come in many varieties and in all sizes, shapes and colours. They are made of ceramic, brass, wood, stone, glass. Some are solemn and brooding, others playful and funny. They are, in fact, very creative. So, I have decided that I will adopt this owl muse as my own, acknowledge him finally after so many years.

However, I will still go to my computer, or to my notebooks, and write. I will write every day, even when I cannot think of anything to say. If my ideas are non-existent, then I will write what is going on around me, what is – or isn’t – in my head, anything. I will write a blog even. Because, if I do not write, then I will gradually become unable to write. It is the determination to write that makes me a writer. It is continuing to write when I have lost confidence in myself and in my words. It is writing until the right words flow again and I get to that space where the real and the imagined become one inside my stories.

I am glad that I now have a muse. I will not expect Owl – he hasn’t revealed his name yet, if he has one – I will not expect him to tell me what to write. I will welcome him as a cherished companion, and let him sit on the top of my door if he wants to. I will listen to anything he has to tell me, but I will not clean up after him.

–  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –  –

After I’d written this piece, I recalled that we saved an owl family last spring. We provided a nest on top of my rotary clothesline for the two babies that had fallen from the one destroyed by the wind. For a couple of months, I took photos of the little ones, as they grew, until they were big enough to leave the nest altogether. Just after that, I found several wing feathers on the lawn – a gift from my muse to say ‘thank you’? I like to think so.

© Linda Visman 2008-2010

15 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Lovely piece of writing Linda. I thoroughly enjoyed the journey. Thank you. I would like to ‘invoke’ mine … somehow.

    • Thank you, Linda! I hope you can too, though what I’ve read of yours doesn’t need more than yourself – it’s already good. I suppose you mean ‘get back to it’, but your study takes up time. When that’s done, you will find your muse again.

  2. I took a break from writing from beginning of December, and I’ve been struggling to get back into it. You are so right when you say: “Because, if I do not write, then I will gradually become unable to write.” I actually read this a couple of days ago, and you have spurred me back into writing, albeit research for an internet site I write for. I even managed to produce an article yesterday, and am now working on the next one. Maybe YOU are my muse! Thank you so much!

    I think Owl is a wonderful name for your muse, and you should think about writing a few stories featuring him.

    • HI Sarah. Thanks for reading and commenting. Glad you like the item, but delighted that it has inspired you to write again! I love my owls, and have feathers and photos of the ones in our yard on the wall in my study, for stimulus.
      I do hope that you are now on a roll and that creativity flows!

  3. Reblogged this on Wangiwriter's Blog and commented:

    I have often wondered how people come to have a Muse, so I thought I would share a story I originally posted over six years ago. Enjoy.

  4. Lovely Linda! Cheers Vick

  5. Thank you so much for this, Linda, and welcome back, with or without your as-yet-nameless Owl. First of all, I’m very sorry about your health crisis and hope you’re out on the other side of it in better health than ever. Second, I very much enjoy your writing and love the way you ever-so-gently insisted here that the “muse’ may or may not come, but it always is up to us to keep writing, keep working; so that when the brilliant ideas come, the pump is primed and the words are ready to flow. And third, this post came at exactly the time that I personally needed it. I was sitting here wondering if I would ever write again (I know, that sounds a bit too melodramatic, but it was as you described it–no motivation, no joy in writing), and so decided to read the latest posts of my favorite fellow-bloggers. Wangiwriter came first, and there was my answer. Take care, be well, and I’m glad you’re there. Josna

    • Ah Josna! I am so glad that this has hopefully inspired you to get back to your writing. Your blog is one I always love to read, and the fact that you came here first inspires me to keep writing too.
      I have just finished, and am doing the final edit on my second novel and am hopeful it will soon be out. There have been many times when I have been unable to write, but as I came to the last one-third of the story, I made myself take my own advice and just sat and wrote. It worked. I hope you can do that too. You have lots to share.
      All the best. Linda

  6. I identify with what you say Linda. I too need to write regularly. Most of it is done in my notebook which I carry around with me at all times. I can’t imagine being without it. My muse is the Yellow Billed Kite, although being in the UK now I don’t see them any longer. I miss them. Loved your post.

    • Many thanks Don. It is good to see you here. Perhaps the Yellow-billed Kite can be with you in spirit, if not in the flesh. What about a picture of one at your desk? 🙂
      That little notebook probably has lots of great things to share, Don, and I hope to see some of them soon. Write on! 🙂

  7. Lovely Linda. I do think we all have muses, but they are individual and mysterious and there’s no one muse fits all. Some are dour, some fun-loving, some sexy. Some are companions who sit quietly beside us or mere whispers in our ears, or they are channels for magic. I hope your muse brings great pleasure and peace to your writing time. ❤

    • Thank you so much for that, Diane.
      I think you must have a very powerful and magical Muse that silently sits with you as you write your wonderful stories.

      • I wasn’t aware of her until I wrote a post about a month ago. Now that I’ve “created” her, she’s around. You might find that with your owl 😀

  8. Great stuff! I’m fascinated by this idea of ‘muses’, but I don’t write that way and so I guess there’s no point in trying to empathize, although of course I do. My room is full of people; characters, whatever I like to call them – and their faces are blank, their voices silent, until I start to fill them. Sometimes – a lot of the time – they go nowhere. Sometimes they live for me. Then I talk to them. Wife: “Who were you talking to?” I invent a telephone excuse. She goes away.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

The Curry Apple Orchard

A blog designed to remember the past and celebrate the present.

barsetshirediaries

A site for the Barsetshire Diaries Books and others

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

Leigh Warren :: Country Music Outlaw

The ramblings of Leigh Warren about himself, country music and maybe... well who knows

Diane Tibert

~ writer - editor - publisher ~

Looking Back

With Mick Roberts. Est. Online 2000

Explore China

Four weeks of flying, cycling, hiking, cruising, eating and exploring

Repurposed Genealogy

Explore What's Possible

Appalachian Ink ~ Home of Anna Wess (and Granny)

Home of Anna Wess, Writer & Ghost Chaser

Myths of the Mirror

Life is make believe, fantasy given form

Writing on the Pages of Life

Exploring, creating and celebrating the writing life

ME and the Boss

Motivation and life......lived and loved one day at a time.

QP and Eye

Easy Going Introvert Blogs Here

Our Rumbling Ocean

Every day brings new adventures

Victoria Norton

Short stories, poems, and comments on life.

Eatable

Making food intolerances tolerable

